Painting Plywood to Automotive Grade Finish

General Discussion. Make yourself at home...read, ask and answer!

Non-Lurker

USA
PostPosted: Tue May 03, 2022 11:14 pm
Hi all,

I recently welded a custom toy hauler trailer frame, epoxy primed it, and painted it single stage black. 6x10' box on a 14' trailer frame.

I will be skinning it with 1/4" plywood, fiberglassing all the corners and seams, and then fiberglassing the exterior shell entirely. I have some fiberglass experience from boats, but never painted them automotive grade at all.

However, I would like the INTERIOR of the trailer to also be 1/4" plywood, however I would like to paint it single stage white.

The current plan to prep the plywood on the interior is epoxy primer to seal it from accidental moisture, and then high build primer, and then single stage white.

If I lay on a good amount of high build primer, and then sand smooth, will it be a nice smooth surface for the SS white? Will the high build primer have any negative tradeoffs, like grabbing moisture or making the surface less resilient (lets say I hit the wall with a tow strap)?

If I painted epoxy primer and then straight Single Stage white, without the high build primer, would that be a stronger more resilient surface, even if a bit rougher looking?

Basically, I am willing to exchange a little bit of surface quality if that means it sticks better and chips less from things bumping into it (lets say a mountain bike comes lose and tips onto the wall during transport).

Any ideas on how to make the interior plywood of a cargo trailer very nice to look at and easy to clean? That is basically the point of me painting it in single stage white.

Thank you for the help!

Board Moderator
USA
PostPosted: Wed May 04, 2022 8:52 am