Wheel painting

General Discussion. Make yourself at home...read, ask and answer!

Non-Lurker

USA
PostPosted: Thu Jul 28, 2022 12:23 pm
So I've got a set of wheels I have prepped and have ready for paint. Ill be using an Azko Nobel base and clear i picked up from a local paints supplier. Im extremely new to this and here's a few questions ive got:

1. I have an 0.8mm touch up gun ill be using for this. any additional reducer needed outside of the TDS? it does not specify other than 4:1 for the clear and paint i don't have handy.

2. I assume ill just have to spray some sort of test panel to figure out what the gun likes. How will i know if its too high or too low on the inlet pressure.

3. My plan was to base the inside barrel, then hit the face. Clear coat in the same order. Any tips to help reduce the overspray? i care mostly about the finish on the front of the wheel.

Top Contributor
PostPosted: Thu Jul 28, 2022 4:30 pm
For your tip i would test it out as you said, try it on something. for wheels the touch up gun should work good as far as spraying. for pressure you gun should have a recommended pressure on it. this is a starting point it may be better up or down from that. usually low air pressure creates an orange peel or rough texture. to much air pressure will cause excessive overspray and loss of material. it would be nice if we had a picture, sometimes when i'm doing oem style wheels (solid style) i'll mix the clear a little on the hot side then you can put it on wet without such a chance of runs (can be typical with wheels due to the shape). most of the time i'll shoot the complete wheel with epoxy (black) then prep just the outside and color and clear the outside only. i don't worry about any overspray, depends some on the color or if its an open wheel.
i made this to paint some Harley wheels that the customer wanted satin black all over i shot the inside of the rim (tire area) then when dry put it in the stand for the rest of the wheel.