NEW CLEAR SAND THRU REPAIR

General Discussion. Make yourself at home...read, ask and answer!

Non-Lurker

USA
PostPosted: Mon Sep 26, 2022 6:32 pm
This is my first attempt at painting a car (1980 MGB). Below the introduction I am listing what I think I need to do and would like some input confirming or correcting my intended procedures. INTRO-I used NAPA / Matin Seynor products. I took it down to bare metal, repaired the bad areas with new metal or bondo. I Primed it with an epoxy primer then 2 coats of FP410 HS Urethane Primer, Sanded it, then a coat of FS512 Primer sealer. Then the base coat using martin Synor Pro/Base paint with Pro/Base PB2203 reducer. Clear coat is FC720 Overall Clear coat and FH612 Hardener. The car is on a rotisserie with the hood, trunk lid, doors and front fenders off the car. I painted the base coat and clear coat panel by panel. Some came out OK. But it seems that the pieces that I put on a lot of clear coat gave me a lot of runs. The pieces that I don't think I have enough clear coat dont have runs but a lot of clear coat. Now to cut and buff stage. I started with 1,000 grit paper using a flexible foam and a durablock sanding blocks. I have enough sand thru's on two panels that I think I need to respray. I am pretty certain that my sand thru's are not becasue of over agressive sanding. I think my clear coat is just too darn thin and should have been applied with more coats. What I think I need to do:
1) Spray some primer on the sand thru's. I broke the clear coat and in some areas I broke thru the color but I did not break thru the primer. No bare metal. Think I should put some primer down as insurance?
2) Sand the panel again using 1,000 grit to put a tooth the remaining clear coat.
3) Respray the entire panel with base coat to get an even color over the entire panel
4) Respray clear coat - probably three coats this time

Does that look like the proper way to do this?