Semi-Gloss clearcoat looks terrible

General Discussion. Make yourself at home...read, ask and answer!

Non-Lurker

USA
PostPosted: Tue Dec 27, 2022 6:27 pm
Hello,
I'm a novice painter with a few cars under my belt at this point so user error is still a real strong possibility...but I'm at my wits end. I decided to try something a bit different on my '76 Bronco hard top and went with a semi-gloss product from Advantage called Stealth Gloss mixed 4:1. I have sanded and re-painted this top 5 different times and it looks terrible each time. I have tried different gun settings (DV1 Clearcoat gun), with 10% reducer/without, heavy coats, medium coats, 2 coats, 4 coats, and the results are still garbage. The sides look pretty good but the top ends up with what look like dry streaks. It does this if I lay it on wet or thin. I have never had a problem with gloss clear coat before. Has anyone used this product with success? Has anyone wrestled with an issue like this could offer advice for my 6th round ?
:knockout:
20221227_230109387_iOS.jpg
20221227_230141375_iOS.jpg

20221227_230133232_iOS.jpg
20221227_230120994_iOS.jpg

Top Contributor
PostPosted: Tue Dec 27, 2022 7:44 pm
looks typical of, not enough overlap, or tilting the gun ( easy to do even for an experienced painter) to fast of a mix, gun adjustment ( fan set to wide), low air pressure, gun to far back. you say well the sides look good. it happens to a lot of us painters for some reson we can shoot it nice and smooth on the side, BUT not on a top or horizontal surface. i would go with the gun technique and slightly to fast.
Jay D.
they say my name is Jay

Non-Lurker

USA
PostPosted: Tue Dec 27, 2022 9:35 pm
By the way, I just sprayed this afternoon so let me know if there is a path to scuff and respray with a new technique tomorrow.

Board Moderator
USA
PostPosted: Tue Dec 27, 2022 11:36 pm