painting ford tomorrow. SIKKENS UX colorcode

General Discussion. Make yourself at home...read, ask and answer!

Settled In

Canada
PostPosted: Thu Jan 05, 2023 3:21 am
hi guys, my second car to paint tomorrow with Sikkens and color code UX for ford. I am an apprentice 5 months now with a shop and have spot painted for many shops for 4 years mobile. Shop is totally different procedures for me getting used to. Basically two painters quit and they are throwing me into the booth. I know how to paint but for some reason, Im very nervous as to what to properply do here.

I have to blend rear quarter panel to rear door. When do I have to use autowave 666 for blending? Do I spray the entire qtr panel and entire rear door before base coat? Or do I just spray base to clear? Any tips would be great thank you.

Top Contributor
PostPosted: Thu Jan 05, 2023 12:14 pm
a picture would be worth a 1000 words here, so we can see where the blend is to be. more info like color would also help. i'm a 45+ year experienced painter and believe me i would be nervous also, hang in there you'll be ok.
Jay D.
they say my name is Jay

Top Contributor
PostPosted: Thu Jan 05, 2023 12:31 pm
I reread your post several times, but i'm wondering why you can't scuff the quarter and door, do your blend and clear it all. i can't see what your doing so this is just a suggestion. i use DuPont's 222 its a mid coat adhesion promotor, sound like the same stuff. it works very good for certain blends, sometimes i do the complete panel sometimes i do just the blend area. sorry i just can't give you anymore without being there or seeing possibly what your doing. also, you're in a different world where time is money, I'm an independent where time is of no real concern. just the money :happy:
Jay D.
they say my name is Jay

Top Contributor
Australia
PostPosted: Thu Jan 05, 2023 7:55 pm