spraying metalic

General Discussion. Make yourself at home...read, ask and answer!

Fully Engaged
USA
PostPosted: Sat Mar 04, 2023 6:12 pm
I am ready to get the lucern blue metalic paint just for the shaker scoop on my project trans am. (car will be white)

as a rookie I'm looking for tips on spraying the metalic even though it just for the scoop.
worried about the uneven tiger stripe effect with mettalic and how to spray it evenly.

thanks
Attachments
TA PIC.jpg
20180107_115131.jpg
Eric

Top Contributor
PostPosted: Sat Mar 04, 2023 7:31 pm
if base coat, apply with light to med coats NOT heavy wet coats. on your last coat hold the gun back and apply a mist coat over the part, you may not need this last procedure. observe proper flash times DON'T get in a hurry. we (my boy and i) just did my car in a bright fine metalic silver and to be sure it looked ok we did the mist coat. it turned out perfect i have had several pro painters look at it and they were all amazed how nice it looked.
Jay D.
they say my name is Jay

Fully Engaged

Canada
PostPosted: Sat Mar 04, 2023 8:35 pm
I’ve been reading about the “drop coat”. How does it not go on dry holding farther back?

Top Contributor
PostPosted: Sat Mar 04, 2023 10:47 pm
you shoot it on just a few minutes ( 1-2) after the last full med coat. but yes that is a problem if you wait too long with the drop coat. good quality base materials play into this greatly, the base is formulated to lay out smooth an example would be when blending a panel. with a drop coat your going to hold the gun back apr. 18" ( JUST A GUESS) i don't know your actual situation. when we did my car i shot the last coat on the front hood and over the top of the front fender. then jumped over and did the other side of the hood and down that fender and around the front. then did a drop coat on the first part of the hood i did and followed what i had done.
Jay D.
Attachments
DSCN7686[1].JPG
they say my name is Jay

Board Moderator
USA