Paint Booth

General Discussion. Make yourself at home...read, ask and answer!

Settled In
PostPosted: Mon Mar 20, 2023 3:09 pm
I have been painting automobiles off and on for 30 years . Planning on building a 40x40 shop and frame up and sheetrock an area 14 x 26 to paint in .
Could you please recommend the lights and fan y’all would install ?
Bitterness of a poor quality job long remains after the sweetness of a low price is forgotten

Top Contributor
Australia
PostPosted: Mon Mar 20, 2023 7:19 pm
Let's assume that you plan on making an end draught booth, that is one where the air comes in at one end and the exhaust is at the other end. You could also have the air intake in the ceiling at the opposite end to the exhaust which would be at floor level, in which case you'd have a semi downdraught booth, which is better than an end draught. In either case the calculations will be the same as are detailed below.

If you're thinking about a side or full downdraught design then the calculations are different and you're likely to need 2-3 times the fan capacity for a start.

So,
14' = 4.3m
26' = not relevant
Assume 9' = 2.7m high

You need to move a front that is 4.3m x 2.7m = 11.6 sqm at a rate of 0.5m/s minimum. This is the rate required for safe evacuation of the isocyanate laden overspray and minimisation of overspray dropping back down on your freshly painted surface.

That's 11.6 x 0.5 = 5.8 cubic metres per second

5.8 x 60 (seconds/minute) x 60 (minutes per hour) = 20880 cubic metres per hour,

which converts to 737370 cubic feet per hour or 12290 cubic feet per minute.

So you need a fan, or fans, that have this capacity as a minimum. Ideally they should also be flameproof with the motor sealed or the fan belt driven by a motor out of the airflow.