Color Differences between coats (single stage)

General Discussion. Make yourself at home...read, ask and answer!

Non-Lurker

USA
PostPosted: Tue Mar 28, 2023 12:32 pm
Hi All,

Newbie here- please go easy on me.

Problem: After three wet coats of single stage paint, wet sanding with 1500, and buffing, I'm getting pretty terrible color variations as I sand through my third coat into my final coat. Pics below- sorry for not embedding the images. I can't for the life of me figure out how to do that from google photos as the links don't seem to work using the IMG code.

Product: PPG Delfleet Essential ESSS Polyurethane Single Stage. 6:1:1 paint, activator, and hardener, with optional recommended reducer. This is a solid color (not a pearl or metallic).

Prep: I mix the paint in the gallon can on a paint shaker for about 5 minutes before every painting batch. Mix the paint and stir thoroughly (3-5 minutes). Strain the paint into the gun. Use the same exact paint in the gun for all three coats.

I've finally figured out how to get the paint to lay down with minimal orange peel and no runs. I'm really not sanding much at all, but there are a few spots where I sand through the last coat into the second coat and in those areas, I'm getting a color differences (stratification lines like a topographical map). It's super hard to pick up on camera after sanding and buffing. I'm sharing two pictures here, each with a version that shows the color lines I'm talking about. It's really obvious in person (and totally unacceptable).

Question: what am I doing wrong? I know I need to repaint to fix this, but after having repainted the vehicle multiple times now, I'm at my wit's end. This thing is gonna get scrapped if I have to redo the paint again.

I can provide tons more info on my process and approach, but didn't' want to make you fine people read a dissertation.