Best way to heat my garage ?

General Discussion. Make yourself at home...read, ask and answer!

Settled In
PostPosted: Sun Oct 08, 2006 10:46 am
I need some advice. I have an unheated two car garage that I use to paint in the summer. I would like to paint this winter, the temprature drops into the 20s and 30s here in Ohio. What I need to know is what is the best type of heater to use. I'm concerned about causing a fire with the fumes from the over spray. I have a small radiator style heater now but it isnt enough to heat the garage. Would heat lamps be an option?
Thanks, greenb98
greenb98

Fully Engaged
PostPosted: Sun Oct 08, 2006 1:34 pm
i'm thinking of getting two of this heater.

http://www.heater-home.com/product/L4000.aspx
I'm a newbie

Settled In
PostPosted: Sun Oct 08, 2006 5:54 pm
Do you think it is safe with paint fumes? I always worry about it even with my fans. I've never heard of anybody blowing themselfs up but I really dont want to be the first! I was thinking if I could heat up the garage to about 75 degrees, cut the heater (actually move it from the garage) shoot the paint and give it about twenty to thirty minutes for the majority of the fumes to be blown out by the fans. And then bring back in the heater. What do you think. Anybody?
Thanks greenb98
greenb98

Fully Engaged
PostPosted: Sun Oct 08, 2006 10:55 pm
it should be safe cuz it's an electric heater but i don't know.
I'm a newbie

Settled In
PostPosted: Sun Oct 08, 2006 11:57 pm
cut the heater (actually move it from the garage) shoot the paint and give it about twenty to thirty minutes for the majority of the fumes to be blown out by the fans. And then bring back in the heater.

The problem you may have is that the fan is going to suck out all your warm air, and where are you going to get your fresh air from....outside air will be pretty cold.

--
Gordon

Top Contributor
USA
PostPosted: Mon Oct 09, 2006 11:19 am