Help I'm new

General Discussion. Make yourself at home...read, ask and answer!

Non-Lurker
PostPosted: Sat Sep 06, 2003 7:04 pm
Hello everyone :) Just thought I'd start a new topic for the first timers.
I own a 65 Plymouth Valiant wagon. and I'm stripping the old paint from it and found a ton of bondo covering dents and dings from a previous
accident as well as some rust holes. anyway I'm new at auto body
but I do know that getting to bare metal and replacing bad metal with new metal is the best way to do things before painting. the problem is welding up new metal peices. I work in an automotive repair shop and we have a small Lincoln M.I.G. welder, and it does not seem to work very well for welding the new sheet metal as it keeps burning through the metal,
even at the lowest temp and wire speed settings. can any1 recomend
the proper welder as well as what tools may be needed to have handy for the job as this is my first venture into body restoration. I just want to do it right the first time. I appreciate any guiding hints or help.
Thank you and God bless :)
P.S. They look better on the road than in the junk yard
Last edited by ValiantOwner on Mon Sep 08, 2003 6:55 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Fully Engaged
PostPosted: Sat Sep 06, 2003 11:12 pm
I'm not the expert here, but I will share some thoughts with you. If there is bondo there, it was there for a reason. This could be a dent, to cover a patch, or possibly just covering an empty hole. Get off the bondo and see what you are dealing with. If the metal is still there, and not rusted, you could probably just shape it out better so you can use less bondo.

If the holes you found are small enough, there are other ways around it. Welding in the new piece will of course be the best though. How big are the rust holes you are finding?