Rear Wheel Arch/Panel Rust Repair - Method to Use?

More of an art than a science - discuss metalworking and welding here.

Settled In
USA
PostPosted: Fri Jan 29, 2016 1:14 pm
hey this is my first post here. i'm not a professional by any means, just a budget minded diy'er that would rather learn and do something myself rather than pay someone to do it. I'm not a complete noob to autobody. i've done prep work, assisted with painting cars with my buddy, and painted 2 motorcycles myself.

Today's post is to get some guidance and advice and find the best method for a diy'er to continue work on my Integra restoration project. here is a little background information. i've owned this car for 10 years at least, the last 15 months it has been off the road and i am completely redoing the vehicle, mechanically, body repairs, interior, etc... the focus for this year for my body repairs is the rear wheel arches. i've repainted this car more times than it should have been with a buddy of mine, so when it comes time to do the actual paint work its going to have to be taken down to metal i think.

anyways, my questions for the moment relates to the repairs at the rear of the car. I'm gearing up to tackle my rear wheel arches on my teg and i have some donor panels to use for the replacement. the wheel arch lip is pretty trashed on both sides down by the rear seat. they seem to still be intact the rest of the way around...and when i say intact, i mean not rotted through. they are still rusty. my goal is to only replace what i absolutely have to.

here is a pic of the bad side where i did some exploratory grinding. the rust doesnt seem to be present anywhere else on the outer panel. hopefully the inner is the same.

i circled some areas that i'm not sure about with the wheel arch area, but first here was my original plan after doing some initial research.