Recommendations for basic buffing materials

Discuss anything after that final masking comes off.

Settled In

USA
PostPosted: Sat May 09, 2015 10:13 am
Apologies if there is a post laying this out already but I couldn't find it specifically.

In the process of painting an old Vette and I need to start thinking about the buffing and polishing materials for it. There is a huge amount of information and it's a bit overwhelming to me since this is my first project. Not trying to achieve show quality results, just something a new hobbyist can be proud to drive.

Can anyone give me a simple list of the compounds, polishes, and pads I should be acquiring? The paint is a semi metallic Nason Ful Base. I know it's not the high end paint but too late to switch now. I'm using the Nason clear as well. A recommendation for buffers would also be appreciated.

Been reading all the posts on techniques but my head is spinning on all the different products out there and I didn't want to waste all my money buying too much stuff. I take it some products are better suited for different types of clear and some products might give better results but are more difficult or time consuming to work with?

Not afraid of the time or work involved but since I am so new at this, probably better that I stick with things that will be more forgiving.

Thanks in advance for the advice.

Board Moderator
PostPosted: Sat May 09, 2015 10:46 am
viewtopic.php?t=10555&highlight=buffathon

Right now I use in order:
Meguiar's 105 100% twisted wool pad
Meguiar's 205 Lake Country White Foam pad
Menzerna 85RD (now called SF 4500) Lake Country Black Foam pad

There are many other products that work well so it becomes a matter of preference much like selection of primer, paint and filler.
1968 Coronet R/T

ACTS 16:31

Settled In

USA
PostPosted: Sat May 09, 2015 11:59 am