Clear Coat Not Smooth

Discuss anything after that final masking comes off.

Non-Lurker

USA
PostPosted: Mon Jun 15, 2020 7:18 am
Newbie here:

Did several coats of base and proceeded on to the clear coats immediately. I think I was putting all the coats way too thinly...it wasn't covering at all in single passes so I just did multiple passes and coats. It may have been a combination of not being close enough/too much air/too little paint flow.

So the paint/clear coats came out quite rough/grainy touch wise. The color is very even and looks good, but it is not smooth and consequently it does not have a glossy look (more of a matte type finish even though it has the clear coats). Can this fixed through buffing/polishing? I really don't want to sand and repaint....this stuff is expensive.

Thanks for any advice you can give.

Board Moderator
PostPosted: Mon Jun 15, 2020 9:02 am
Did you let each coat flash off?
How many coats of clear are on it now?
Can you post a picture of what it looks like?
1968 Coronet R/T

ACTS 16:31

Non-Lurker

USA
PostPosted: Mon Jun 15, 2020 9:46 am
I would say I waited 10-15 minutes between each of the base coats, then at least 20 minutes before I started the clear (not doing a whole vehicle, so each coat did not take long to apply). Maybe this wasn't long enough? It was going on so light, I just kept going over it until I was out of paint.

Here is a link to a photo of it: The extreme right of the photo is some paper behind the item. It actually looks a little rougher in the photo than it is.
https://photos.google.com/search/_tra_/ ... HDbTID79av

Board Moderator
PostPosted: Tue Jun 16, 2020 9:02 am
Link doesn't work.

How many coats of clear are on it?

What spray gun and size tip did you use?
1968 Coronet R/T

Non-Lurker

USA
PostPosted: Tue Jun 16, 2020 10:30 am
There are 3-4 coats of clear on it. I think I just didn't put anything on enough to really wet it at one time. I used a Harbor Freight cheapo gun with 1.4 tip.