First Cut and buff job. Need some advice.

Discuss anything after that final masking comes off.

Settled In

USA
PostPosted: Thu Oct 22, 2020 10:08 pm
Painted my car for the first time. Artic White. Base coat/clear coat. I have a door that I have been working on and I want to get it right before I use the same steps on the rest of the car. The problem is IM GETTING SWIRL SCRATCHES in the finished product and it's also slightly cloudy in the reflection. I'm not sure if the scratches are coming from my DA sander or my Dewalt buffer pads. Here is what I used to finish the door and the order it went in. Again this is my first time and Im learning. I want to find a set up that works for me.

Block sanded clear coat with 800 by hand then 800 on my DA.

Block sanded 1000

Block sanded 1500 then 1500 with DA

Block sanded 2000 then 2000 with DA

Block sanded 2500

Block sanded 3000 then 3000 with DA.

Buffed at 1000 RPM with white 3M pad 05723 and 3M compound 36060

Buffed at 1000 RPM with black ebay pad using 3M 06094 Machine polish.

This took forever, maybe I'm doing it a little over kill but something is causing scratches... Advice on how to fix this and how to proceed with rest of the car would be much appreciated.

Top Contributor
Australia
PostPosted: Fri Oct 23, 2020 12:03 am
Wow, that's a lot of effort to put scratches into the paint.

The bottom line is that you simply haven't effectively sanded out the scratching done in some previous step. Which one I'd have no idea but you'll probably have to backtrack a few grits to get the scratches out.

Are the scratches in straight lines, like when you were block sanding? Or are they circular, of similar diameter to your rotary pad? Or are they little squiggles, a few millimetres long?

Try to take some pictures of the damage and post those up so we can try to help you identify.
Chris

Top Contributor
PostPosted: Fri Oct 23, 2020 6:34 am