Sanding Between Coats

Discuss anything after that final masking comes off.

Non-Lurker
PostPosted: Fri Mar 05, 2004 9:51 am
I am new to painting w/ base / clear paint. Do you sand between coats on the base coats and between the clear coats, and if you do what do you need to do? Thanks by the way I love the advice ya'll give it helps a bunch

Fully Engaged
PostPosted: Fri Mar 05, 2004 12:19 pm
Do not sand inbetween coats! Wait till the last coat of clear is dry and sand it and buff.

Non-Lurker
PostPosted: Fri Mar 05, 2004 12:23 pm
Thanks for the info, horsepower

Non-Lurker
PostPosted: Fri Mar 05, 2004 12:26 pm
Do you sand between coats of base, if so what grit paper is best. also what is the best grit paper for between base and the 1st coat of clear

Fully Engaged
PostPosted: Fri Mar 05, 2004 1:37 pm
Let me start over.
1 prep body (sand old paint / new primer)
2 spray seal coat
3 Spray base coat
4 spray clear coat
5 wet sand and buff.

No sanding to be done between step 1 and step 5.
Any sanding of base coat will ruin your new paint job.
This is not Lacquer, not even close.

Non-Lurker
PostPosted: Fri Mar 05, 2004 2:24 pm
Thanks, sorry but I am from the old school. I have never done a base coat - clear coat paint. Again thanks for the help, and this has got to be one of the best sites on the internet!!

Settled In
PostPosted: Tue Apr 13, 2004 12:03 pm
HORSEPOWER wrote:Let me start over.
1 prep body (sand old paint / new primer)
2 spray seal coat
3 Spray base coat
4 spray clear coat
5 wet sand and buff.

No sanding to be done between step 1 and step 5.
Any sanding of base coat will ruin your new paint job.
This is not Lacquer, not even close.

After you do the body work should you use a sealer coat first before your (sanding) primer coat, then sand, then add another seal coat then base?

Fully Engaged
PostPosted: Tue Apr 13, 2004 6:55 pm