Painting plastics

Discuss anything after that final masking comes off.
PostPosted: Wed May 19, 2004 4:36 pm
I am planning to paint plastic side fairings on a street bike, i have a spray gun and pneumatic sander. If anyone can help i need help on the steps to be taken and the supplies i should get. For sanding i was wondering what grit and if i should do it by hand? Do i need to get an adhesion promoter?If i use the promoter do i need to use primer? And where is a good place(affordable) to get those supplies? If someone can do a step by step including possible supplies that would be great. Thank you for any help or additional advice.

Fully Engaged
PostPosted: Wed May 19, 2004 6:09 pm
Hey cab Im doing bike stuff too.......Im NOT a pro or even an amateur for that matter but I have been researching this topic for a few months now and like to think Ive read a lot of good information so Ill do my best to steer ya in the right direction.

First things first:
Do the fairings presently have paint?
What about decals?
Are they damaged at all or have imperfections that will require fill work?
Are they really plastic or are they aftermarket skins made of fiberglass? (believe it or not but Ive seen many ppl over the yrs call their f/g skins "plastics" when referring to their bodywork.)

Once I get those answers Im pretty confident that I can give ya some helpful starting tips.
PostPosted: Wed May 19, 2004 11:44 pm
Yes they currently have Paint on them.
Some have decals.
Some have very small cracks that have already been fixed on the underside.
They are all currently factory skins (plastic), might do after market if I get good and want a couple different paint schemes.

Thanks for all the help!!!!!

Fully Engaged
PostPosted: Thu May 20, 2004 9:44 pm